Skip to content

Welsh Wednesdays – Review: “Midnight Sky” by Jan Ruth

by on August 31, 2016

writerchristophfischer

51rDDiF76yLSome of you might remember Jan Ruth from my interview with her on Welsh Wednesdays
Today I can finally present my review of her novel “Midnight Sky.”
I heard so much good about Jan’s writing that I feared I would be disappointed. Turns out, I was not. The book is really well written and has characters with substance and bite.
There is a dark tone to it that befits the setting in North Wales and Chester. You immediately picture dark and moody ‘Hinterland’ scenery. Knowing the area well personally has helped me to visualise is and feel the setting.
There is a lot of drama in the family and romantic relations portrayed, tough choices, conflict between lovers and family, overcoming the past, modern issues such as abortion, grief… The book really has a lot going for it with deep writing, food for thought and a captivating atmospheric style.
I was…

View original post 455 more words

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Leave a Reply

