Skip to content

Picture this…

by on January 23, 2014

No, it isn’t the line about my finest hour being the one I spent watching you shower. This isn’t that sort of a blog. Although thinking about it, perhaps I’d get more readers if it was!

So in her attempt to help me lower the tone, here’s my good friend M T McGuire talking about her work.

MTM1

Hello there everyone.
Will has very kindly lent me his blog so I can bludgeon you about the head with- er hem… sorry, give you some information about my next two books. As the ex Marketing Manager for a bus and coach company, it seems appropriate that there should be a two year gap between my books, only for two to arrive at once. Had I applied a little intelligent planning to my books then, doubtless, the route to completion would have run more smoothly. Then again, it probably wouldn’t have been as much fun. Anyway, if I was the kind of person who had any aptitude for planning and forethought, the K’Barthan Trilogy would either not have four books in it or it would be called something different.

Having somewhat cocked it up in that respect, I’ve decided I may as well leave it. After all, I’m in good company, Douglas Adams and Wagner both wrote works that are called ‘trilogies’ but comprised five and four works, respectively*. Also, let’s face it a tetralogy sounds more like a form of invasive surgery than a series of books.
But enough of that. I’m here to show you the covers and talk about the books.
So, the K’Barthan Trilogy is about a young outlaw living in a despotic regime in a parallel reality. He has, literally, eyes in the back of his head and, coupled with the fact he’s a terrible coward, this makes him very good at running away, so he becomes a getaway driver. Here’s the official blurb.

The K’Barthan Trilogy
Desperate man seeks quiet, danger-fee existence. Destiny refuses.
All The Pan of Hamgee wants is a quiet life, but he has an unfortunate tendency to complicate things for himself; he falls for a woman living in a different version reality to his, for starters. He also has a knack of getting himself noticed by the wrong people. As a result, his efforts to exist humbly and unobtrusively, and to woo his love, merely get him into deeper and deeper trouble, dragging both her, and his friends, along with him.
As Government forces close in on him, The Pan does what comes naturally to his cowardly nature; he takes to his heels. But the time comes when there is nowhere left to run. He must stand up for his beliefs, face his demons and rectify the chaos he has caused, or die trying.

There are bad jokes, silly names, an unspeakable baddie, flying cars, flying car chases, fights and a smattering of romance. There might even be the odd universal truth buried in there somewhere but if there is, it’s only by mistake.

MTM2

Doing the cover is one of the best bits in writing and as a self published author, I get complete control! Luckily, I happen to know the best designers in the world; A Trouble Halved, in Stratford Upon Avon – http://www.athdesign.co.uk. I got completely carried away and sent them a 10 page spec for the covers. I filled it with film posters from the 50s and 60s and pictures of the characters. I sent them pictures of the characters’ clothes. I told them what I wanted. There was a long pause and then they said. “Drawing whole people will be very expensive, and anyway, your readers might prefer to imagine them for themselves, what about just the hands?”
This is the result. I still reckon the artwork is the best bit of my books.

MTM3

One Man: No Plan, K’Barthan Trilogy: Part 3 is due out on 27th April 2014)
Confused ex outlaw, pardoned for all misdemeanours, seeks answers…
The Pan of Hamgee has a chance to go straight, but it’s been so long that he’s almost forgotten how. With a death warrant over his head he is released, given a State sponsored business, and a year’s amnesty for all misdemeanours while he adjusts.

He doesn’t have a year, though. In only five days Lord Vernon gains total power. Unless The Pan can stop him, K’Barth is doomed. The future hangs by a thread, and the only person who can fix it is The Pan: a man without a plan.

MTM4

Asking For Trouble, K’Barthan Trilogy: Part 4 (due out 24th May 2014)
Cornered Hamgeean, with nowhere left to run, seeks time…
The time has finally come when The Pan must stand up and be counted. He must face his demons and rectify the chaos he has caused. He can stop Lord Vernon, and he’s going to, but the timing is crucial.
To succeed he has to stay alive, a possibility if he keeps his head down and maintains a low profile. But that’s not an easy task for The Pan.

*That was factoid of the week; brought to you by Wikipedia.**

**C’mon, it’s Will’s blog, there have to be footnotes.

If you’d like to find out more about the K’Barthan Trilogy or stalk M T McGuire on social media you can find her at any one of these places.
Blog: http://www.mtmcguire.co.uk
Website: http://www.hamgee.co.uk
List of books:
Amazon (wherever you are): http://Author.to/MTMcGuire
iTunes: http://bit.ly/1gXetoX
Kobo: http://bit.ly/H8GIDT
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/16oqU5K
Website: http://www.hamgee.co.uk/books

Social Media:
Twitter: @mtmcguireauthor
Twitter profile for easy following http://bit.ly/1a41QoT
Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1d86hC5
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1fNn1Q4
Pintarest: http://bit.ly/1b3p0dk
Tumblr: http://bit.ly/170MG31 caveat, I’ve no idea what to do with Tumblr but wordpress offered to add my blog posts and it seemed churlish to refuse.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Eeeeeeeeee! Thanks pet. I’ve just read the blurb for the whole series and cringed… obviously the ‘he’ on the second line should be The Pan of Hamgee… Doh. In my defence I had the spins when I wrote that so I wasn’t at my most pointy brianed and coherent… I don’t believe it, I’ve just written ‘pointy brianed’ instead of pointy brained. But it’s quite funnny. so I’ll leave it.

    Cheers

    MTM

    • Susan has already been howling with laughter on FB at pointy-brianed….

      Want me to change it?

      • Please!!! Where I’ve done the synopsis of the whole trilogy, I’ve said “All he wants is a quiet life,” and what it should read is “All The Pan of Hamgee wants is a quiet life.”

        Geez my Brian is pretty lame today!

        Cheers

        MTM

  2. I think you had me at Part 4 of the trilogy. Being pointy brianed is the frosting on the cake. Though as I think about noting that my brian isn’t very pointy either this morning I think that may shift this to the kind of blog it isn’t but that Will kind of wishes it were.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Free E-Books! 2-12-14 | The Literary Syndicate

Leave a Reply

