Skip to content

It sounds absurd, but please tell me who I am.

by on April 15, 2012

My youngest has a fixation with watching ‘Family Guy’, an American cartoon which loves to lampoon not just attitudes but even well known individuals.  Even Stephen King came in for some shtick, portrayed as a hack witer who could give his publisher anything at all and see it published.  Is that true?  Probably it is.  I’m known, to almost three people probably,  and like to think that I’ve got fans now.  Actually, I have got a fan, it sits on the edge of my desk in the summer, and constantly reminds me of its presence by blowing air across the papers I’m working on.

Now Stephen King seemed to have got lost in his characters, to the point of caricature in that episode. And I was so glad, because it meant that I’m not the only one.  Occasionally, if we’ve had a really heavy session on the wordprocessor, I feel as if some of them have taken me over.  That’s not too bad when it’s the hard drinking, blues playing dwarfs.  But can get very confusing when it’s the female characters.  I’m not into cross dressing, so occasionally I’ve walked out of the bedroom in the morning feeling wrongly dressed.  And I can talk funny, too on bad days.  Or maybe they are the good days?  And my accent will drift from the upper class favoured by the vampires, to the northern accents of my adult characters, and the rough slang of the musicians.  Mind you, that can be a good thing – if I seem drunk at ten in the morning, it’s just that I’m in character.  Honest.

So, if you know me and I seem a bit odd some days, just hang on there, and sooner or later the characters will drift away, get bored or go to sleep and maybe I’ll get control for a while, and you’ll get a chance to talk to me.  Again, I often think that they only let me out when the chores need doing, or the publisher wants to complain/harass/intimidate me with incessant demands for more product.  As soon as the fun things arrive, the characters turn up demanding their share of the run time.

Can’t leave this week without thanking Tricia for being kind enough to speak to me again.  The characters don’t realise that it can be fun filling in her questionnaires, so they let me do it.  For now.

 

http://www.yainterviews.triciadrammeh.com/2012/04/will-macmillan-jones-author-music-lover.html

 

Oh by the way, did I mention that my second book is released today  by my rather lovely publisher?

The Banned Underground – The Mystic Accountants.  Check it out on the websites of Amazon, Waterstones, or Safkhet Publishing

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. M T McGuire permalink

    Do not worry, you are not alone! OK, so I don’t do the talky thing but I am afraid I almost certainly have my bad guy’s laugh and I do keep going off into a brown study and walking into things or banging my head… then again, I live in a house which contains a 3 year old so the phrase “oh no, I’ve hit my head on the table” is often used in all seriousness here.

    Cheers

    MTM

  2. Honey…you never break out of character! 😛

    Another great post, Will, and HUGE congratulations on today’s publication of the brilliant, Mystic Accountants!

    So exciting! 😀

  3. It’s always a pleasure to talk to you, or your characters, or whoever happens to be in control. It’s like having a dozen friends in one!

Leave a Reply

